Posted on Apr 16, 2021


EDMONTON – Thirteen of the 17 UCP MLAs who signed a letter undermining public health orders have schools in their ridings with outbreaks of 10 or more cases, analysis by the Alberta NDP Caucus shows.


There are 17 UCP MLAs openly revolting against life-saving public health restrictions. Despite a significant rise of COVID-19 cases in schools and increased reports of in-school transmission, 13 of those MLAs have outbreaks across 40 schools in their constituencies, according to the School Status Map.


Alberta currently has the highest active case rate of COVID-19 in Canada. According to the government’s own COVID-19 data dashboard, more school-age children have active cases today than there were at the height of the second wave in November, when K-12 schools were closed and students were sent home.


“These MLAs are railing against the very efforts put in place to stop the spread in their communities and protect children in their schools,” said NDP Education Critic Sarah Hoffman. “Their selfish behaviour only serves to encourage Albertans to ignore the rules, driving further spread and putting children in their ridings at risk. They must apologize to Albertans and retract this letter immediately.”


Last week, an open letter to Albertans endorsed by 17 UCP MLAs was published online. The letter undermines the public health measures implemented by the Government of Alberta on the advice of Chief Medical Officer of Health, Dr. Deena Hinshaw, calling them “backwards” and the “wrong decision”.


Grande Prairie MLA Tracy Allard, who was forced to resign from Jason Kenney Cabinet after public outrage over her decision to vacation in Hawaii against travel advice at Christmas, signed the letter. Allard currently has 11 schools with outbreaks in her constituency. 


“These MLAs are putting their own political skin ahead of the health of children in their riding. If Jason Kenney was a real leader, he would have already removed them from his caucus,” said Hoffman.


The UCP MLAs who signed the letter who also have schools with outbreaks in their ridings are:


Micheala Glasgo, Brooks-Medicine Hat

  • St. Michael's School


Miranda Rosin, Banff-Kananaskis

  • Springbank Community High School 
  • Springbank Middle School


Todd Loewen, Central Peace-Notley

  • Hillside Junior Senior High School


Angela Pitt, Airdrie East

  • A. E. Bowers Elementary School
  • Northcott Prairie School
  • Our Lady Queen of Peace Elementary School


Jason Stephan, Red Deer South

  • St. Thomas Aquinas School
  • West Park Elementary School
  • Eastview Middle School


 Tracy Allard, Grande Prairie

  • Ecole Montrose School
  • Aspen Grove School
  • Ecole Nouvelle Frontiere
  • Mother Teresa School
  • Grande Prairie Composite High School
  • Charles Spencer High School
  • St. John Paul II Catholic School / Faculte St. Jean-Paul II
  • Riverstone Public School
  • Alexander Forbes School
  • Hillside Community School
  • Peace Wapiti Academy


Nate Horner, Drumheller-Stettler

  • Delia School
  • Morrin School


Nathan Cooper, Olds-Didsbury-Three Hills

  • Olds Koinonia Christian School
  • Reed Ranch School


Glenn van Dijken, Athabasca-Barrhead-Westlock

  • Edwin Parr Composite Community School
  • Covenant Canadian Reformed School
  • Barrhead Composite High School


Ron Orr, Lacombe Ponoka

  • Ecole Secondaire Lacombe Composite High School
  • St. Augustine School
  • Ponoka Secondary Campus
  • St. Gregory The Great Catholic School
  • Ponoka Elementary School


Dave Hanson, Bonnyville-Cold Lake-St. Paul

  • Ecole Mallaig Community School
  • Ashmont Elementary Community School


RJ Sigurdson, Highwood

  • St. John Paul II Collegiate
  • Foothills Composite High School
  • Ecole Secondaire Highwood High School
  • Meadow Ridge School


Mark Smith, Drayton Valley-Devon

  • Frank Maddock High School