Posted on Nov 2, 2020


EDMONTON - The UCP voted to shut down a motion that would have expressed the support of the Legislature for a united Canada to appease their separatist base.

“Today, we learned that Jason Kenney is scared of his Caucus and that the UCP cannot be counted on to stand against separatism.

“It’s a sad day when the Government of the province entertains separatist ideas. We need to unite to overcome the challenges we face but clearly Jason Kenney is continuing his career of division

Motion 511, moved by NDP MLA Rod Loyola, read: “Be it resolved that the Legislative Assembly affirm that it is unquestionably in Alberta’s interest to remain part of the Canadian federation and unequivocally denounce calls for Alberta to become a state that is independent of a strong and united Canada.”

Loyola said, “Growing separatist sentiment in Alberta hurts our economy. The Premier has cautioned party members about the damage it can do to Alberta’s credibility, but the UCP refuse to condemn it” 

Rod Loyola spoke to the motion and following that UCP Cardston-Siksika MLA and Deputy Government Whip Joseph Schow rose and proposed a motion to move the motion to the bottom of the order paper, shutting down the debate and guaranteeing that it would not be heard.

The NDP motion was then replaced by a UCP motion that failed to denounce separatism. The move was clearly meant to protect the separatist elements within the UCP Caucus.

UCP MLAs who voted to shut down the debate on the NDP motion include:

  • Tany Yao MLA for Fort McMurray-Wood Buffalo, 
  • Kaycee Madu Minister of Justice and Solicitor General, 
  • Sonya Savage Minister of Energy, 
  • Jason Nixon Government House Leader, 
  • Joseph Schow MLA for Cardston-Siksika, 
  • Rick Wilson Minister of Indigenous Relations, 
  • Mickey Amery MLA for Calgary-Cross, 
  • Demetrios Nicolaides Minister of Advanced Education, 
  • Mike Ellis MLA for Calgary-West, 
  • Rajan Sawhney Minister of Community and Social Services, 
  • Laila Goodridge MLA for Fort McMurray-Lac La Biche, 
  • Josephine Pon Minister of Seniors and Housing, 
  • Searle Turton MLA for Spruce Grove-Stony Plain, 
  • Leela Aheer Minister of Culture, Multiculturalism and Status of Women, 
  • Nathan Neudorf MLA for Lethbridge-East, 
  • Muhammad Yaseen MLA for Calgary North, 
  • Devinder Toor MLA for Calgary-Falconridge, 
  • Devin Dreeshen Minister of Agriculture and Forestry, 
  • Glenn van Dijken MLA for Athabasca-Barrhead-Westlock, 
  • Jordan Walker MLA for Sherwood Park, 
  • Jackie Armstrong-Homeniuk MLA for Fort Saskatchewan-Vegreville,
  • Martin Long MLA for West Yellowhead.  

Cypress-Medicine Hat MLA Drew Barnes, who has been an outspoken proponent of Alberta separatism and who reported that he wanted to participate in the debate was not present for the debate or vote. Also not present for the debate or vote was Red Deer-South MLA Jason Stephan who had referred to other provinces as “hostile, parasitic partners” and called Canadian Confederation a “rigged partnership”.